Please select the appropriate SPA standard from the list below, in order to access program report forms, instructions, and other resources. All report forms are available in Adobe PDF. SPA Initial Review Reports are due three (3) years before the CAEP site visit.

Active SPAs

American Council on the Teaching of a Foreign Language (ACTFL)

American Library Association (ALA) / American Association of School Librarians (AASL)

Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE)

American School Counselor Association (ASCA)

Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)

Council for Exceptional Children (NAGC/CEC)/Gifted Education Professionals (NAGC/CEC)

National Policy Board for Educational Administration (NPBEA) - Educational Leadership Constituent Council (ELCC)/National Educational Leadership Preparation (NELP) Standards

National Association of School Psychologists (NASP)

National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS)

National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)

Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE) 

Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)

Inactive SPAs

Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI)

International Literacy Association (ILA)

International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE)

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)

National Science Teachers Association (NSTA)

SHAPE America-Health Education (formerly AAHE)

SHAPE America-Physical Education (formerly NASPE)

Contact Information for SPA Coordinators

Contact Information for SPA Coordinators

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)

Teresa Bell: tbell@byu.edu; 801-422-4961


American Association of School Librarians (AASL)             

Karen Lynn O’Brien: kobrien@ala.org; 312-280-2434

Susana Stoll: sstoll@ala.org; 312-280-2435


Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE)  

Ellis Hurd: ehurd@ilstu.edu; 309-438-5115


Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)   

Bradley Duncan: bradd@cec.sped.org; 703-264-9406

Kathlene Shank: ksshank@eiu.edu; 217-581-5315

Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)-Formerly National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC)

Bradley Duncan: bradd@cec.sped.org; 703-264-9406


National Policy Board for Educational Administration (NPBEA)

(Educational Leadership Constituent Council (ELCC)/National Educational Leadership Preparation (NELP) Standards)                

Joan Auchter: auchterj@nassp.org; 703-860-7280


National Association of School Psychologists (NASP)       

Natalie Politikos: nasppab@naspweb.org; 860-768-4545


National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS)    

Brandie Benton: bentonb@hsu.edu; 870-230-5203


National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)   

Paul L. Yoder: pyoder@truman.edu; 660-785-4502


National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)     

Irma Cruz-White: icruzwhite@comcast.net; 850-718-2345


Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE)     

Susan Goekler: schoolhealthspa@sophe.org 202-408-9804

Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)        

Dr. Anita Bright: abright@tesol.org; 503-395-4372