

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 15, 2020

CONTACT Matt Vanover (217) 341-3849 | <u>Matt.Vanover@caepnet.org</u>

News

Release

9 Educator Prep Providers from 8 States Recognized for Leadership in Continuous Improvement in honor of Frank Murray

Murray providers produce nearly 1,000 high quality graduates ready to make positive impact on P-12 learning

WASHINGTON – The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) announced today that 9 providers from 8 states received recognition for their leadership and commitment to continuous improvement. The recipients of the 2020 Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement provided evidence and data trends to achieve accreditation with no stipulations or areas for improvement.

The Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement is named after the founding President of the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC). CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and TEAC. Murray was the founding President of TEAC, served as Chairman of the Board for TEAC and was also an initial member of the CAEP Board of Directors. He was a key advocate for a single set of teacher preparation standards to unify the profession and was instrumental in the merger that created CAEP. He also served as the Dean of the College of Education at the University of Delaware from 1979 to 1995.

"Frank Murray was passionate about education preparation, a prominent leader in our profession, and an advocate for evidence to improve education. The providers that CAEP is recognizing are committed to continuous improvement and preparing their students to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate," said Karen Symms Gallagher Chair of the CAEP Board of Directors. "CAEP Accreditation is a sign of commitment to quality through purposeful use of evidence. The Murray Leadership Recognition recipients should be proud of their accomplishments."

Recipients of the 2020 Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement are selected from the educator preparation providers (EPPs) that were granted accreditation by CAEP at the initial level from the previous year, who provided evidence and demonstrated data trends with no stipulations or areas for improvement. Providers selected for recognition advance equity and excellence in educator preparation through purposeful use of self-study procedures and evidence-based reporting that assure quality and support continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 learning. These EPPs have a mission driving their continuous improvement inquiry, use assessments that are relevant to the topic being informed and consequential, show the reliability and validity of the evidence provided for accreditation, have quality assurance capacities that inform their knowledge and address questions about relationships in the data.

"This second class to receive the Murray Recognition represents the diversity and innovation that comes with CAEP accreditation. Small, large, public, private, faith-based, and historically minority serving," said CAEP President Chris Koch. "These recipients reflect the creativity that CAEP affords in achieving excellence, by meeting the standards in a variety of ways, for the diverse populations they serve."

CAEP accreditation serves the dual purposes of accountability and continuous improvement. 341 educator preparation providers in 45 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, have been accredited under the CAEP Standards. The CAEP accreditation process evaluates the performance of providers and focuses particularly on whether candidates will be prepared, by completion, for the challenging responsibilities that educators face in America's classrooms. Approximately, 700 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP Accreditation system, including many previously accredited through former standards. CAEP is the only educator preparation provider recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.

Frank Murray Recognition for Continuous Improvement

Alma College—Michigan Monmouth University—New Jersey South Carolina State University The University of Oklahoma York College/CUNY—New York Bellarmine University—Kentucky Northeastern Illinois University Southern Illinois University at Carbondale West Virginia University at Parkersburg

###

The **Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation** (<u>www.CAEPnet.org</u>) advances equity and excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.